### Sanbornton Conservation Commission

May 11, 2017

# Meeting Minutes (approved 6/8/17)

Present: Chair Brad Crosby, John Earley, Mary Ahlgren, Dick Ayers, Doug Sarette, Mark Ledyard

Brad Crosby, chair, called meeting to order at 7:03 p.m., upon recognition of a quorum present.

#### **Minutes:**

Chair Crosby noted the cancellation of the April meeting and the inclusion of the agenda items in this meeting.

## **Old Business:**

Chair Crosby noted that the secretarial position in support of the Commission had been advertised and that he would be meeting with the Town Administrator to discuss the selection process.

Following brief discussion of the Squam Lakes Science Center season pass for the library, Mary Ahlgren motioned to approve the purpose the pass from the conservation fund, second by Brad Crosby with unanimous approval

Brad Crosby noted he had been in touch with John Martin regarding the completion of the conditioning and seeding of the road on the New Boston Road project and that John indicated he would complete the work once there is dry access.

Chair Crosby brought forward the selection of the Town Forrester, as previously discussed by the Commission. Notation was made of corrections to the *draft* RFP from previous meetings. After brief discussion, notation of corrections to the RFP was made as well as the timeline and process for solicitation of qualified candidates. Mary Ahlgren motioned to accept the RFP as revised and to advertise the position consistent with town protocol. The motion was second by John Earley and unanimously approved. Brad Crosby indicated he would consult with the Town Administrator on advertisement and distribution of the RFP to qualified candidates.

# **New Business:**

With recognition that this meeting was the Annual Organizational Meeting, Dick Ayers nominated Brad Crosby as Commission Chair. The motion was seconded by Mary Ahlgren and unanimously approved. John Early was nominated by Brad Crosby as Commission Vice-Chair, second by Dick Ayers and unanimously approved.

Chair Crosby noted that three Commission positions expire on June 30<sup>th</sup>—Karen Bordeau, Dick Ayers and Mark Ledyard. Mary Ahlgren made a motion to forward to the Selectman the names of the each of the individuals noted to the selectman for appointment to a three (3) year term. Approved by unanimous vote

The Commission brought forward several *draft* goals for the Commission in the year ahead. They are: (1) To proceed to purchase land that will become a conservation easement, (2) To proceed with trail maintenance and reconditioning, with particular attention to the trails on Eastman Hill, (3) To support an effort of the citizens of Sanbornton to fully participate in an Earth Day efforts. The specific strategies for addressing each of the goals noted will be discussed in forthcoming meetings of the Commission.

Meeting was adjourned at 8:20 p.m. on motion by Dick Ayers and second by Doug Sarette with unanimous approval

RWA 5/15/17